Smoothie Cubes = Decent Workday Breakfast

Simplest way I’ve found to get a healthy start on my busy mornings: smoothie cubes.  I make green smoothie ice cubes whenever I have a surfeit of greens and super-ripe fruit.  I keep them in the freezer, and on hectic work mornings, I blend a few cubes with some apple juice and a little water to make a super fast smoothie that involves no peeling, cutting, or composting, because that all took place on a weekend when I had time for those shenanigans. 

Greens for smoothies

A typical surfeit, left to right: lettuce mix, kale, and spinach

My favorite combination is  kale, spinach, banana, and peaches.  I sometimes add a little honey if the greens outnumber the fruit.  I simply blend the greens and fruit with a little water to make a thick puree.  Then I freeze the puree in ice cube trays.  Pop them out and save them in a container in the freezer.

An added benefit?  I can use up greens when they are exploding out of the garden, not to mention the ever-present overripe banana or two.

Leave a Reply

