Endless Autumn

Eliot

Eliot (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I recently came across this quote from George Eliot:

“Delicious autumn!  My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.”

Yes, so would I.  Years ago, I took a trip to Costa Rica.  It was supposed to be 10 days, but stretched out to 3 weeks because I didn’t want to come home.  When I did come home in mid-July, I immediately began mental planning to move to C.R.  I inventoried everything in my apartment to discern how much cash I could assemble, I listened to my Spanish language tapes a few dozen times, bought a Spanish-English dictionary, began researching “teach English overseas” websites.  I daydreamed about the conversation I would have with my boss to tell him I was quitting.

And then Fall arrived — I got home from work one evening, and That Fall Smell was in the cool dusk air.  And I gave it all up: pura vida and gallo pinto simply couldn’t hold a candle to wood smoke and chilly air.

Eliot’s quote reminded me of the movie Endless Summer, where two surfers follow summer around the globe so that they can have optimal surfing conditions.

So, I say forget summer (I already have), what fall activity would you want to carry on in every corner of the world?  Me, I’d have a campfire in as many chilly, gold shimmering, cold-smelling places as I could.  And I would inhale That Fall Smell deeply.

Leave a Reply

